Sunday, March 10, 2013

Oh Boy

I don't even know where to start. Since I've been home, I've been having this pain in the lower right part of my stomach a little below an incision. It really only hurts when I move a certain way, sneeze, cough or laugh too hard. My husband decided it was time for an ER visit after I sneezed in front of our kids and screamed out in front of the kids and almost blacked out from the pain. We didn't go to the hospital that did my surgery, but another hospital close by because I didn't think it was due to the surgery because its not the incision that hurts me.

They did a CT scan and bloodwork, and the results has me scared shitless. But the hospital I went to refuses to do anything because their surgeons won't touch another surgeons work. So my surgeon needs me to make an appointment first thing Monday morning.

Basically, my white blood cell count is elevated. My bilirubin in the bloodstream is elevated. I have a large quantity of free-floating fluid that is accumulating in my abdomen, the doctors seem to think its caused from an absess in the incision. Plus, the CT scan showed "large multiple wedge-shaped hypodensities in the periphery of the liver." I googled that and it means that those areas are a red flag to doctors that parts of my liver tissue isn't normal. With the elevated white blood cell count and excessive bilirubin, I'm just praying that its not liver cancer. I didn't come into the ER with complaints relating to the liver, so they can't do further studies, my doctor will need to do that.

I have been so sick since being home. I can't eat and when I do, it's very small amounts. I think yesterday I had a couple of saltines and a half of a half piece of chicken...I couldn't even eat the whole half. My stomach is distended partly due to I'm still swollen internally from the surgery and partly due to the large amount of fluid that's accumulating.

I am 26 years old and it feels like I have problems that people don't experience until their senior years. And even then, I know lots of seniors that never even really had a major health problem that comes close to what I've been through. But, trying to remain positive and remember that no matter how bad you think you have it, there is always somebody out there who is going through worse. So, I'm just hoping that whatever is going on with my liver isn't as scary as it sounds and the draining of the fluid can be done easily without a hospital stay because all of my family have used up their off days to help me with this surgery. My parents are worthless and I could never ask friends to help when most of them have their own families and jobs to worry about.

Today is a day of complete rest for me. I am only allowed up to use the bathroom lol. My husband has been overly worried and has been taking my temperature once an hour because if I spike a fever, we need to go to the hospital ASAP. No high fever yet, but it's bouncing back and forth from 98.9-99.7 which technically is a fever to me because my "normal" temp runs about 96 degrees.

So hopefully my surgeon can see me tomorrow so I don't have to think and worry about this for a long period of time. I think the wait is absolutely horrible....probably worse than the actual condition. But me and my husband both struggle with anxiety and he's been having multiple panic attacks today because be thinks he's gonna lose me. He said last night he should've married somebody he hated so if he lose them, it wouldn't be a big deal. I told him, "if you married somebody you hated, that would be a miserable life." He replied with "No, a miserable life for me is to not have you around anymore." I about cried....he can be so sweet sometimes and I hate myself that I make him worry because seems like everything tends to go wrong with me. I know I have no control over what happens, but still. It doesn't seem fair that he has to worry over me

Well I am off for now. I'm due for pain meds and a nice nap. I might try to eat something since I haven't eaten yet today. It sucks having to make myself eat...but hey, it's the best kind of diet lol.

No comments:

Post a Comment